AGATHE SIMON
Antarctic Music

2014
Sound Installation
18 min
5.1 and Stereo Version

© Agathe Simon

Agathe Simon composed Antarctic Music with 2 types of sounds:

1. Voices of people from all continents,
2. Sounds she has recorded in Antarctica in March 2014: Sea Elephants, Petrels, Brown Skuas, floating ice on the Antarctic Ocean, landing of Hercules plane in Antarctica, take-off of Kamov Ka-27 helicopter on Chilean Base Frei, Vasiliy Golovnin ice-breaker and its Russian crew, party in Carlini Base, Canal Beagle Argentinian vessel, radio communications, Carlini Base generator, wind, meltwater, Antarctica soil, scientific research.

Antarctic Music is a tribute to Gabriela Conti, a great writer and explorer who died in a snow storm on February the 9th, 2010, close to South Pole. The text is based on excerpts of her travelogue during ‘2048 Expedition’. From October the 29th, 2009, to February the 7th, 2010, Gabriela Conti has been part of an international team who crossed Antarctica from Marambio base, in the Peninsula, to Geographic South Pole (2900 km).

The ‘2048 Expedition’ has been launched by the International Organization for Antarctica in order to celebrate the 50 years of The Antarctic Treaty (12.01.1959), the 40 years of Marambio Base (10.29.1969) and the 10 years of Transantarctica Expedition (1989-90). The name ‘2048 Expedition’ is a reference to the upcoming 50th birthday of the application for the Madrid Protocol, relative to the Antarctic environment protection.

For Antarctic Music, Gabriela Conti’s text, originally written in French, has been recorded in 13 languages from all continents. Simon has worked in collaboration with artists and researchers who have translated and performed excerpts of Gabriela’s Antarctic travelogue in their own languages: Persian, Sinhalese, Afrikaans, Swedish, Finnish, Serbo-Croatian, Greek, Arabic, Icelandic, Spanish from Argentina, English from Australia, English from United Kingdom. It reminds us that Antarctica belongs to no country but to humanity. Actually, according to Antarctic Treaty, Antarctica is a land of peace and science. It should remain so – a preserved place.

Antarctic Music begins with an allusion to Rabelais, more precisely to the frozen and the unfrozen words of his Quart-Livre (1552). According to this text, “at the edge of the glacial sea”, the phrases, screams and noises of a battle have been frozen by an intense cold. When summer is back, they melt and can be heard.

This very battle may be seen as the conflict pointed out by Gabriela in her travelogue: Antarctica can destroy a person in ten minutes (via snow storm), but humanity can destroy Antarctica in ten years (via global warming). This is why the red color is rather present in this sound creation, from the first words in Persian to the last ones in Swedish: red, like a warning for Global Warming. This core idea of a battle is also evoked through multiple engine sounds, like the Kamov Ka-27 helicopter (which is also used as an allusion to Helicopter String Quartet by Stockhausen) or through the loudness of certain nature sounds, like the grunts of sea elephants, or the wind.

Performers:
Jaâfar Akil | Morrocan photographer and researcher
Cecilia Valentina Conti | Argentinian photographer
Georgios Dimitroglou Rizell | Swedish mathematician
Shahrzad Fathi | Iranian artist and performer
Sigurlín Bjarney Gísladóttir | Icelandic writer
Pauline Gutter Jenkinson | South African painter
Favela Vera Ortiz | Finnish choreographer
Agathe Simon | French artist
Marty St James | British artist
Peter Urquhart | Australian composer
Vela Velković | Serbo-Croatian artist
Deneth Piumakshi Wedaarachchige | Sinhalese fashion designer and visual artist

Direction, recordings, editing, mixing, music: Agathe Simon
Original text: Gabriela Conti, excerpts of Vivre, to be published (© Jules Nancy 2010)
Translations: Each performer has translated Gabriela’s text in her/his language/s.

Special thanks: Mariano Memolli, Andrea Juan, Jean-François Guéganno, Anne Monnier, Lucie Haguenauer, Sten Melin, Jesper Elén, Djamel Mékarnia, Carine Mosca, Alain Louvier.

Agathe Simon is a Paris-based artist, born in 1977. After a decade of art projects throughout the world, she starts a partenrship with the art company The Group in Paris in 2017. She is also conducting artistic creation workshops at the Sorbonne University.

Agathe Simon is currently preparing projects in partnership with ‘Les Voûtes’ (a Parisian alternative art venue), the “C.N.R.S.” (the largest governmental research organisation in France), the Paris Cergy National Graduate School of Arts, the University of Cergy-Pontoise, and the Museum of Non-conformist Art (Saint Petersburg, Russia). These projects will include performances, films, and exhibitions.

AGATHE SIMON
Antarctic Music

2014
Installation sonore
18 mn
version 5.1 et stéréo

© Agathe Simon

Agathe Simon a composé Antarctic Music avec 2 types de sons :

  1. des voix de tous les continents,
  2. des sons qu’elle a enregistrés en Antarctique en mars 2014 : éléphants de mer, pétrels, skuas antarctiques, glace flottant sur l’Océan Antarctique, atterrissage d’un avion Hercule, décollage d’un hélicoptère Kamov Ka-27 sur la base chilienne Frei, brise-glace Vasiliy Golovnin et son équipage russe, fête sur la base Carlini, navire argentin Canal Beagle, communications radio, groupe électrogène de la base Carlini, vent, eaux de fonte, sol d’Antarctique, recherches scientifiques.

Antarctic Music est un hommage à Gabriela Conti, grand écrivain et explorateur qui perdit la vie dans une tempête de neige le 9 février 2010, près du pôle Sud. Le texte est basé sur des extraits de son journal de bord durant l’Expédition 2048. Du 29 octobre 2009 au 7 février 2010, Gabriela Conti a fait partie de l’équipe internationale qui traversa l’Antarctique depuis la base Marambio, dans la péninsule, jusqu’au pôle sud géographique (2.900 km).

L’Expédition 2048 a été lancée par l’Organisation Internationale pour l’Antarctique afin de célébrer les 50 ans du Traité sur l’Antarctique (01.12.1959), les 40 ans de la base Marambio (29.10.1969) et les 10 ans de l’expédition Transantarctica (1989-90). Le nom de cette expédition est une allusion au cinquantième anniversaire de l’entrée en vigueur du protocole de Madrid, relatif à la protection de l’environnement en Antarctique.

Pour Antarctic Music, le texte de Gabriela Conti, écrit en français, a été enregistré en 13 langues, de tous les continents. Agathe Simon a travaillé en collaboration avec des artistes et des chercheurs qui ont traduit et interprété des extraits du journal de bord de Gabriela dans leur/s propre/s langue/s : persan, cinghalais, afrikaans, suédois, finnois, serbo-croate, grec, arabe, islandais, espagnol d’Argentine, anglais d’Australie, anglais du Royaume-Uni. Le propos est de rappeler que l’Antarctique n’appartient à aucun pays, mais bien à l’humanité toute entière. D’ailleurs, selon le Traité de l’Antarctique, l’Antarctique est une réserve naturelle consacrée à la paix et à la science. C’est ainsi qu’il doit rester – un continent préservé.

Antarctic Music commence par une allusion à Rabelais, et plus précisément aux paroles gelées et dégelées du Quart-Livre (1552). Selon ce texte, au « confin de la mer glaciale », les apostrophes, cris et bruits d’une bataille ont été gelés par un froid intense. Quand l’été est de retour, ils fondent et peuvent être entendus.

Cette bataille peut être vue comme le conflit mis en évidence par Gabriela dans son journal de bord : l’Antarctique peut détruire une personne en dix minutes (par une tempête de neige), mais l’humanité peut détruire l’Antarctique en dix ans (par le réchauffement climatique). C’est pourquoi la couleur rouge est particulièrement présente dans cette création sonore, depuis les premiers mots en persan jusqu’aux derniers en suédois : rouge, comme un avertissement concernant le réchauffement climatique. Cette idée centrale d’une bataille est aussi évoquée par de nombreux bruits de moteurs, comme ceux de l’hélicoptère Kamov Ka-27 (qui est aussi utilisé par allusion au Helicopter String Quartet de Stockhausen) ou par la puissance de certains sons naturels, comme le grognements des éléphants de mer, ou le vent.

Performeurs : Jaâfar Akil | Photographe et chercheur marocain
Cecilia Valentina Conti | Photographe argentine
Georgios Dimitroglou Rizell | Mathématicien suédois
Shahrzad Fathi | Artiste et performeuse iranienne
Sigurlín Bjarney Gísladóttir | Écrivain islandais
Pauline Gutter Jenkinson | Peintre sud-africain
Favela Vera Ortiz | Chorégraphe finnoise
Agathe Simon | Artiste française
Marty St James | Artiste anglais
Peter Urquhart | Compositeur australien
Vela Velković | Artiste serbo-croate
Deneth Piumakshi Wedaarachchige | Styliste et artiste visuelle cinghalaise

Direction, enregistrements, montage, mixage, musique : Agathe Simon
Texte original : Gabriela Conti, extraits de Vivre, à paraître (© Jules Nancy 2010).
Traductions : Chaque interprète a traduit le texte de Gabriela dans sa/ses langue/s.

Remerciements : Mariano Memolli, Andrea Juan, Jean-François Guéganno, Anne Monnier, Lucie Haguenauer, Sten Melin, Jesper Elén, Djamel Mékarnia, Carine Mosca, Alain Louvier.

Agathe Simon est une artiste française, née en 1977. Après une décennie de projets artistiques à travers le monde, elle fonde à Paris en 2017 la compagnie de création Le Groupe, avec des membres de 26 pays. Elle donne également des ateliers de création à Sorbonne Université.

Agathe Simon prépare actuellement des projets en partenariat avec Les Voûtes (lieu alternatif de création Les Frigos), le C.N.R.S., l’École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy, l’Université de Cergy-Pontoise, l’Université de Nanterre et le Musée de l’Art Non-Conformiste de Saint-Pétersbourg. Ces projets incluront performances, films et expositions.